Northfield Village Caucus Meeting October 20, 2010 Minutes

The Biennial Town Meeting was held at the Town Hall at 7:30pm.

Caucus Members present at the meeting were:

Jim Appel Ruth Lucchesi
Peg Beeman Finley Maxson
Bobbie Moore Tracey Mendrek
Keith Reed David McGregor
Caroline Duppler Patrick O'Donoghue
Kathy Estabrooke Margy Parcells

Tom Pick

Bill Gould Michael Sollitt

Jim Henderson Cricket Trutter Hauff
Erv Hobson Donald Whiteman
Graham Jackson David Woodyatt

John Kemper

Six Northfield residents attended and voted, including the three trustee candidates.

Jim Henderson, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 7:35pm

Jim Henderson introduced himself, officers and caucus members.

Approval of the Agenda: Michael Sollitt motioned, Peg Beeman seconded All in favor

Approval of 14 July 2010 Meeting Minutes:

Bobbie Moore moved and Don Whiteman seconded a motion to include in Biennial Town Meeting minutes the July 14, 2010 Caucus minutes the results of the Caucus Vote and action taken on the Question: "Shall the Village of Northfield become a home rule unit pursuant to Article VII, Section 6 of the Illinois Constitution?" That vote passed with (11) **Yes**, (9) **No**, (3) **abstained**. The Moore/Whiteman motion passed.

Platform Committee report: The Chair, Bobbie Moore, reported that the Committee reviewed the 2010-2011 Caucus Platform Statement and accepted it as written, with a few grammatical changes. Tracey Mendrek moved and Mike Sollitt seconded, a motion to accept the committee report.

Discussion:

Frank Charhut, and other audience members, questioned why the Platform did not specifically mention that the Caucus voted in favor of Northfield becoming a Home Rule unit.

The Chair, Jim Henderson, explained that Caucus members discussed this issue at a prior meeting and they felt the topic was covered in the Platform section which states: "Over time, changing circumstances may create new perspective ..." Additionally the Caucus members felt that the Platform speaks to this issue in the Financial Responsibility section: "Residents have indicated a priority...for Police, Fire and basic Public Works services". Also, as required in the by-laws, the July vote in support of the home rule referendum, resolution was delivered to the Village President, trustees and administrators.

After further discussion the Chair called for a vote. The motion to accept the 2011-2012 Caucus Platform, with grammatical changes as submitted, passed.

Nominating Committee: Patrick O'Donoghue, Chair, introduced the three selected candidates for Village Trustee, Jack Chapin, Allan Kaplan and Joan Frazier. Each gave a brief statement about themselves and their commitment to the Village. There was discussion and questions about one candidate's apparent lack of clarity as to his support of the Village's Home Rule referendum. It was agreed that the discussion was not relevant as the Referendum would be over before any of the candidate's took office. Patrick moved that the Caucus place the three candidates for Village Trustee on the April 2011 Consolidated Municipal Election Ballot. Peg Beeman seconded the motion. The vote was 18 in favor, 2 opposed.

Resident Questions and Comments: Frank Charhut made a motion that called for a resolution of support for Home Rule to be added to the Caucus 2010-2011 Platform Statement. Mike Sollitt seconded. The motion it passed 16 in favor, 3 opposed. The Chair asked Platform Chair, Bobbie Moore, to work on a statement for presentation to the next caucus meeting.

Jim Henderson asked members to recruit and refer to the membership committee new members from their neighborhoods for consideration at the January 10, 2011 Annual Meeting.

Motion to adjourn Bill Gould, Mike Sollitt seconded.

All in favor 8:30 pm

Respectfully Submitted,

Jim Henderson, Chair Contributors Caroline Duppler, Bobbie Moore, Ruth Luchessi