## <u>Northfield Village Caucus</u> <u>Annual Meeting</u> January 10, 2011 7:00 PM

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 pm at the Northfield Community Center, 401 Wagner Road, by Caucus Chair, Jim Henderson.

Both the evening's *Agenda* and the prior meeting *Minutes* (Bi-Annual Town Meeting 20 October 2010) were approved. At that meeting, there was considerable discussion regarding a statement to be inserted in the platform as to the Caucus's position for the upcoming 5 November 2010 referendum on *Home Rule*. While many individual Caucus members supported Home Rule, the body as a whole had declined to change the platform accordingly. At the 10 January 2011 meeting the issue was moot because the referendum had passed. However, those present wanted the Caucus platform to reflect support for citizen approved *Home Rule*.

Accordingly the following Caucus action followed: Barbara Moore moved, and Ruth Lucchesi seconded, a motion to amend the 2010-2011 Caucus platform by inserting, "Trustees should support Home Rule as passed by referendum." After discussion, the Caucus members concluded that the current platform language said what was needed. The motion was defeated by a show of hands.

Jane Goldenberg moved, and Ruth Lucchesi seconded, a motion to remove the parenthesis in the current platform language in order to clarify its meaning. That language read—" The Caucus addresses specific actions or policies in the platform when they find a 60% majority (via survey or referendum results) of residents support a particular action or policy." The motion passed on a show of hands.

Jim Appel presented candidates for the new caucus by distributing a voting precinct listing, of those individuals who were interested in serving on the Caucus for the next two-year term, ended 31 January 2013. As the Bylaws require, a separate motion was made, seconded, and approved for representatives from each voting precinct as follows:

Precinct 8:	Barbara Moore, Bill Gould, Al Chircop
Precinct 9:	Jonathon Don, David Woodyatt
Precinct 20:	Kathy Estabrooke, David McGregor, Michael Solitt, Tom Boyle, Jane Goldenberg
Precinct 23:	Kathy Fishman, Linda Garard, Jerry Mulick, Tom Pick, Margaret Cothran, Betina Karlove, Judy McDaniel
Precinct 37:	John Kemper, Ruth Lucchesi, Tracey Mendrek, Finley Maxson, Keith Reed, Patrick O'Donaghue, JimAppel, Frank Charhut, Daniel DeLoys, Dave Detlefson
Precinct 44:	Jim Henderson, Cricket Trutter Hauff

Keith Reed reported for the Selection Committee. This Committee was appointed by Chair, Jim Henderson, pursuant to Article IV, Section 2 of the Bylaws, and consisted of: Jim Henderson, Jim Appel, Bobbie Moore, Mike Sollitt, Caroline Duppler and Keith Reed. The Committee proposed the following new slate of officers: Chair – Tracey Mendrek; Vice Chair – Al Chirchop; Secretary – Kathy Estabrooke; Treasurer – Ruth Lucchesi. The slate was unanimously approved.

Jim Appel recognized John Kemper's decade of service to the Caucus as its Treasurer as he presented a *certificate of appreciation* to him. Caucus members burst into a round of applause in appreciation for John's tireless efforts.

The meeting adjourned at 8:45 pm.

Caucus Members attending were:

Jim	Appel	Jim	Henderson	Jerry	Mulick
Caroline	Duppler	John	Kemper	Patrick	O'Donaghue
Kathy	Estabrooke	Ruth	Lucchesi	Keith	Reed
Linda	Garard	Finley	Maxson	Mike	Sollitt
Bill	Gould	Dave	McGregor	David	Woodyatt
Cricket	Hauff	Bobbie	Moore		

Northfield residents attending were: Jack Chapin, Frank Charhut, Maggie Cothran, Pat Doherty, Jean Doherty, Jane Goldenberg and David Selzer.

Members of the Media: Anna Lothson, Winnetka Current

Respectfully submitted,

Caroline Duppler, Secretary